zoomauto bug?

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post Reply
RogerMcCarty
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:30 am

zoomauto bug?

Post by RogerMcCarty » Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:36 am

The zoomauto command considers objects on hidden layers to determine new drawing size. Normal behavior or bug? Seems a bug to me.

QCAD Professional
Version:
3.22.1.0 (3.22.1)
Internet:
QCAD.org
Build Date:
May 21 2019
Revision:
46d6499
Qt Version:
5.10.1
Architecture:
x86_64 [macOS 10.14.5]
Compiler:
Clang 10.0.0

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2715
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: zoomauto bug?

Post by Husky » Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:23 am

Can't reproduce that behavior on a Win10 installation. Can you post an example drawing which shows this effect? Thanks.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

RogerMcCarty
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:30 am

Re: zoomauto bug?

Post by RogerMcCarty » Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:54 am

Hope this is clear.

1. Load the drawing and Zoomout.
2. Do zoomauto, notice the awkward amount of free space below visible objects.
3. Unhide the layer "board2" and see the reason zoom was not greater.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-06-06 at 9.47.05 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-06-06 at 9.47.05 PM.png (969.98 KiB) Viewed 3287 times
Screen Shot 2019-06-06 at 9.47.09 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-06-06 at 9.47.09 PM.png (1.04 MiB) Viewed 3287 times
Screen Shot 2019-06-06 at 9.47.16 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-06-06 at 9.47.16 PM.png (1013.99 KiB) Viewed 3287 times

RogerMcCarty
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:30 am

Re: zoomauto bug?

Post by RogerMcCarty » Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:59 am

I suppose I should show effect of deleting the board2 layer
1. delete the layer
2. zoomauto again, notice the zoom is now greater.

The final screen capture shows the zoom I expected would have happened initially.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-06-06 at 9.57.01 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-06-06 at 9.57.01 PM.png (985.9 KiB) Viewed 3285 times
Screen Shot 2019-06-06 at 9.57.05 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-06-06 at 9.57.05 PM.png (1.02 MiB) Viewed 3285 times

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2715
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: zoomauto bug?

Post by Husky » Fri Jun 07, 2019 6:08 am

RogerMcCarty wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:54 am
Hope this is clear.
It was already clear but without the dxf/dwg there is no chance for us to reproduce the issue.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

RogerMcCarty
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:30 am

Re: zoomauto bug?

Post by RogerMcCarty » Fri Jun 07, 2019 6:14 am

Didn't think you would expect me to post a file on the public forum.
Last edited by RogerMcCarty on Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2715
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: zoomauto bug?

Post by Husky » Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:31 am

RogerMcCarty wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 6:14 am
Didn't think you would expect me to post a file on the public forum.
If a drawing is confidential please feel free to use the PM function. Do you want me to delete it?

Question: Is this drawing entirely done with QCAD? Layer 0 / block t-trak-balloon-loop v4 behave weird.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

RogerMcCarty
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:30 am

Re: zoomauto bug?

Post by RogerMcCarty » Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:39 pm

Yes and Yes.
I see the file has been downloaded 3 times.
Can you please explain "behave weird"? How do I reproduce that? How do I correct it?

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2715
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: zoomauto bug?

Post by Husky » Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:16 pm

RogerMcCarty wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:39 pm
Can you please explain "behave weird"? How do I reproduce that? How do I correct it?
Honestly - I don't know. I think you are right that invisible layer are also used for Auto Zoom but I can't reproduce that with a new drawing. It is only with your drawing. Andrew should have a look at this and I'm sure he can help you more than me.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

RogerMcCarty
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:30 am

Re: zoomauto bug?

Post by RogerMcCarty » Fri Jun 07, 2019 8:38 pm

OK, I understand although I have no idea how to contact him.

Since you described the behavior as weird, I am curious what symptoms you observed. Are these similar to the zoomauto issue?

I suppose I could simply re-draw that portion, but since I don't know what I am trying to fix I would have no idea if I succeeded.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2715
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: zoomauto bug?

Post by Husky » Fri Jun 07, 2019 8:48 pm

RogerMcCarty wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 8:38 pm
OK, I understand although I have no idea how to contact him.
I can contact him for you if you allow me to share your drawing with him.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

RogerMcCarty
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:30 am

Re: zoomauto bug?

Post by RogerMcCarty » Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:16 pm

Yes please contact, feel free to share drawing. Thanks!

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2715
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: zoomauto bug?

Post by Husky » Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:30 pm

Done! :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6352
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: zoomauto bug?

Post by andrew » Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:41 am


Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”