Why did this drawing suddenly bring QCAD to its knees?

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post Reply
User avatar
lphilpot
Full Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 4:03 am
Location: Deep South USA

Why did this drawing suddenly bring QCAD to its knees?

Post by lphilpot » Fri Mar 08, 2019 3:16 am

QCAD Pro 3.21.3.0
Xubuntu 18.04.2 Linux 64-bit

I'm just a QCAD putzer and I was intrigued by Husky's twisted wire drawing (in another topic) so I decided to try it. I got as far as a drawing with eight splines and four straight lines, on two layers. Then suddenly QCAD bogged down to a crawl. While my drawing may not be optimal, 12 objects isn't a lot. And it's just this drawing - Doing almost anything triggers a LOT of CPU but other drawings are fine.

For example, here's a CPU graph when I switched to it from another drawing:

Image

...and here's one when I hid a layer:

Image

Zooming is slow, etc., but saving is quick (although loading is slow). I had another drawing open as well and it's very quick, perfectly normal. Switching to other drawings is fast, but back to this one is slow. I cleaned it - No duplicate nor zero-length entities. Restarted QCAD, etc. No better.

The drawing is attached - What did I miss?

Thanks.
Attachments
twisted wire.dwg
(18.3 KiB) Downloaded 51 times
Len
----------------------------------------
QCAD Pro on Xubuntu Linux (usually)

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2523
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Why did this drawing suddenly bring QCAD to its knees?

Post by Husky » Fri Mar 08, 2019 6:16 am

lphilpot wrote:
Fri Mar 08, 2019 3:16 am
I'm just a QCAD putzer and I was intrigued by Husky's twisted wire drawing ...
Here we go .... understood .... my fault ....... :lol: :lol: :lol:


I checked your drawing on my Win10 and I can't reproduce a crash. Then I bloated it with many copies ....

Husky-2019.03.07-02.png
Husky-2019.03.07-02.png (224.27 KiB) Viewed 406 times

.... which slows QCAD down but it is still stable. CPU (2 Cores) stays below 38%.

BTW: Your drawing looks already pretty good! :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6183
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Why did this drawing suddenly bring QCAD to its knees?

Post by andrew » Fri Mar 08, 2019 9:31 am

It's the very fine dash-dot pattern of the red splines. Change the linetype of layer "red" to "continuous" or adjust the lineweight or linetype pattern scale or switch to screen-based linetypes (View > Screen-based Linetypes).

User avatar
lphilpot
Full Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 4:03 am
Location: Deep South USA

Re: Why did this drawing suddenly bring QCAD to its knees?

Post by lphilpot » Fri Mar 08, 2019 2:43 pm

That was it. I created the drawing from my standard template and that layer was originally for center lines, hence the dashed line. The actual scale of the drawing (which I was going to reduce once done) made it so large I didn't notice the linestyle. Changed it to Continuous and all is well.

Excellent - I was at least relieved to see it was the drawing and not something in QCAD itself. :) Obviously Husky's computer is much faster than mine (which is admittedly a few years old).

Thanks.
Len
----------------------------------------
QCAD Pro on Xubuntu Linux (usually)

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”