help with commissioning a machine

Drop in here to discuss whatever you want.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

john brooks
Registered Member

help with commissioning a machine

Post by john brooks » Wed Feb 01, 2023 1:29 pm

hello all, i have been recommended, by a friend to try your software to run a cnc plasma machine. i am only commission this machine and getting it set up ready for production.
my background is precision machining on convectional machining and cnc over 40 years and now i run my own company doing mainly proto type work and anything once, i use ONECNC for all my drawings and tool parts but my Experience in running cnc plasma is very limited and the cliant i am commissioning tis machine has zero Experience.

I have converted and upgraded many cnc machines over the years but this one has presented me with many problems, from badly copied Chinese controllers and no documentation to being badly put together. after fixing the problems i can fix the machine is still not cutting acceptably. leading me to asking a friend that knows cnc plasma for advice, when he stopped laughing at me for even trying to use the software that came with the machine (fastcam) he pointed me to QCAD.

spec
cnc controler - f2300a
torch hight controler - avc168
plasma - lgk 2001gbt
table size 5foot * 12foot

Questions-
1 is your software compatible with the above components?
2 do u have a dnc editor for the above components?
3 is there any advice you can give on the competence of this set up, including any upgrade.
4 do you do mutable licenses as my client and i would both want our own copy of your software, because im doing this commission for cost and in return i get use of the machine.

best regards
john brooks

sorry for the poor litercy, very dislexic engineer.

andrew
Site Admin

Re: help with commissioning a machine