Arc Disappears when Zooming in and out and not selectable

Drop in here to discuss whatever you want.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
John Hyslop
Full Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 6:21 am
Location: Melbourne - Australia

Arc Disappears when Zooming in and out and not selectable

Post by John Hyslop » Fri Nov 15, 2019 7:03 am

Hi Andrew

I was testing snapshot qcad-3.23.0.6-pro-win64 today on a job for laser cutters.
a strange thing happened, i drew the entities on layer 1 [ Magenta ] and when I zoomed
out 1 of the arcs disapeared it was also unselectable , I window selected all and changed
to layer 0 but the arc remained on layer 1 and still disapeared and reappeared zooming in
and out... Anyway I saved the file and reopened it and it became selectable?? next time
if this happens again I'll do a screen video of it as it seems to be ok now...attaching screenshot and file..

Cheers
John
PS..also noticed when I was filleting the 5mm radii around the outside depending on whether I selected the line or arc 1st..the fillet would be created but the large arc would disappear.. I've noticed this happening a few times but just undo and select in different order..
Attachments
Snapshot - Cutting-Blade.dxf
(188.77 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
Qcad Screenshot.jpg
Qcad Screenshot.jpg (119.63 KiB) Viewed 473 times
IF IT IS TO BE IT IS UP TO ME [ Ten most powerful 2 letter words ]

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2756
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Arc Disappears when Zooming in and out and not selectable

Post by Husky » Fri Nov 15, 2019 7:41 am

I tried everything to reproduce the issue - no luck so far.
John Hyslop wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 7:03 am
... next time if this happens again I'll do a screen video of it as it seems to be ok now...attaching screenshot and file..
Yes please - that could help. Thanks.

On which operation system does that happen?
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

John Hyslop
Full Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 6:21 am
Location: Melbourne - Australia

Re: Arc Disappears when Zooming in and out and not selectable

Post by John Hyslop » Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:32 am

Hi Husky

Windows 10...
Could it be graphics card related?

Cheers
John
IF IT IS TO BE IT IS UP TO ME [ Ten most powerful 2 letter words ]

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Arc Disappears when Zooming in and out and not selectable

Post by CVH » Fri Nov 15, 2019 5:44 pm

John Hyslop wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 7:03 am
PS..also noticed when I was filleting the 5mm radii around the outside depending on whether I selected the line or arc 1st..
the fillet would be created but the large arc would disappear..
I've noticed this happening a few times but just undo and select in different order..
The function 'Round' (RN) may have some hiccups in rare cases.
Started an overview some months ago but never finished it because it got very complex.
(partially: https://qcad.org/rsforum/viewtopic.php?t=6490#p24378)
The order of reference choice has indeed some influence, the distance and the entity type too.
The major flaws only occur with the option 'Trim' set to on.
Even when so obvious as in your case, the trimming may delete the wrong side.
But that's not the full story.

A former cad I used 20 years ago took into account at what side and where was pointed for tangents so
the user had control on the solution field.
Without this functionality I can't come up with an always correct scheme.
On the contrary, with this, the solution field may also be empty while there might be one or some.
The same goes for many circle and arc tools.
The fist time I used Qcad with tangent circles I was blown away by the vast amount of solutions presented.

My 'Trim' option is set to off. I can then trim like I desire it.

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.23.0.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Arc Disappears when Zooming in and out and not selectable

Post by CVH » Fri Nov 15, 2019 5:49 pm

John Hyslop wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:32 am
Windows 10...
Could it be graphics card related?
Probably not.
As you say yourself that there was an issue with the entity that was solved by Save >> Revert

The most problematic is that we can't file a dxf with this flaws.

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.23.0.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2756
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Arc Disappears when Zooming in and out and not selectable

Post by Husky » Fri Nov 15, 2019 6:32 pm

John Hyslop wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:32 am
Windows 10...
I run QCAD Pro on Win10 too - works like a charm.
John Hyslop wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:32 am
Could it be graphics card related?
Whats about other programs on that computer - any display problems?

Question: The used QCAD installation is a "pure" installation? Meaning of "pure" is that there is only one installation in that sub directory. Not a mix of different QCAD software experiments.

Test: Please reset QCAD for a temporary test. The reason for this test is to exclude possible setting issues.
Make sure QCAD is closed,
find and rename the qcad3.ini below C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming\QCAD,
start QCAD and test this particular drawing regarding the issue.

Please tell us your findings. Thanks
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

John Hyslop
Full Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 6:21 am
Location: Melbourne - Australia

Re: Arc Disappears when Zooming in and out and not selectable

Post by John Hyslop » Fri Nov 15, 2019 8:36 pm

Hi Husky

It was the snapshot release as I noted in 1st comments..not had any other similar issues with other cad software I have installed..

And I can't seem to simulate this thing happening again..as I said once I saved the file and reopened the arc was selectable...

The snapshot is run from it's own folder...
I'll do more testing but looking through the forum I did notice someone else had issues with parts of his drawing disappearing when zooming in and out..

Cheers
John
IF IT IS TO BE IT IS UP TO ME [ Ten most powerful 2 letter words ]

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2756
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Arc Disappears when Zooming in and out and not selectable

Post by Husky » Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:04 pm

John Hyslop wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 8:36 pm
... I did notice someone else had issues with parts of his drawing disappearing when zooming in and out..
Yep but the drawing was stored in the cloud. Is your drawing stored in the cloud?
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

John Hyslop
Full Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 6:21 am
Location: Melbourne - Australia

Re: Arc Disappears when Zooming in and out and not selectable

Post by John Hyslop » Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:53 am

Hi Husky
What cloud? I attached the drawing in original post? Does Qcad save the drawing somewhere else?
Cheers
John
PS ohh I get you now..the person that had problems had his drawing in the cloud duh ☺️
IF IT IS TO BE IT IS UP TO ME [ Ten most powerful 2 letter words ]

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2756
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Arc Disappears when Zooming in and out and not selectable

Post by Husky » Sat Nov 16, 2019 1:02 am

John Hyslop wrote:
Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:53 am
PS ohh I get you now..the person that had problems had his drawing in the cloud duh ☺️
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

John Hyslop
Full Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 6:21 am
Location: Melbourne - Australia

Re: Arc Disappears when Zooming in and out and not selectable

Post by John Hyslop » Sat Nov 16, 2019 1:33 am

Hi Husky
I'm going to do the whole job again using the same methods as before to see if I can recreate this..if I do I will post a video of it in this topic although I feel it could be a random thing but I'll give it a shot..
Cheers
John
IF IT IS TO BE IT IS UP TO ME [ Ten most powerful 2 letter words ]

John Hyslop
Full Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 6:21 am
Location: Melbourne - Australia

Re: Arc Disappears when Zooming in and out and not selectable

Post by John Hyslop » Sat Nov 16, 2019 1:59 am

Hi Husky
I tried redoing the job from scratch but it didn't come up with the disappearing and non selectable entity,I did however
do some testing on the Arc Fillet problem... see attached dxf file, screenshot and video...
try putting an 8mm fillet between the 2 arcs and see what you get.. I know you can cheat this by doing a circle tangent to tangent and radius
but that defeats the purpose :-).. let me know how you go.. thanks for your help :-) sorry have to use dropbox link it won't allow
me to attach video?
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kqnhfma2ozq3 ... z0Vva?dl=0
Attachments
Try-8mm Fillet.dxf
(181.71 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
ScreenShot-Fillet 8mm.jpg
ScreenShot-Fillet 8mm.jpg (104.17 KiB) Viewed 370 times
IF IT IS TO BE IT IS UP TO ME [ Ten most powerful 2 letter words ]

John Hyslop
Full Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 6:21 am
Location: Melbourne - Australia

Re: Arc Disappears when Zooming in and out and not selectable

Post by John Hyslop » Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:15 am

Hi Husky

Sorry I didn't realise you already posted about this...will i remove post from chat?
and if i get the disappearing and non-selecting thing happening i'll repost... I don't
want to just have negitive post on here... I'm happy to go along with your solution
of switching off trim on fillets and hopefully one day it will be fixed..

I'll let you read this 1st.. then I'll remove post completely :-)

Cheers
John
IF IT IS TO BE IT IS UP TO ME [ Ten most powerful 2 letter words ]

Post Reply

Return to “Chat”