Creating/drawing multiline

Drop in here to discuss whatever you want.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
ESSA
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2020 12:37 pm

Creating/drawing multiline

Post by ESSA » Thu Mar 19, 2020 12:56 pm

Is it possible to draw multiline?
Can I draw several parallel lines with one operation?
How can I set distance between lines and different line types?
Like center line, two lines for duct and sometimes two lines more for insulation.

Thanks!

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6643
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Creating/drawing multiline

Post by andrew » Thu Mar 19, 2020 2:14 pm

No, QCAD does not have such a multiline feature.

ESSA
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2020 12:37 pm

Re: Creating/drawing multiline

Post by ESSA » Mon Mar 23, 2020 12:30 pm

And not in future?

:(

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6643
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Creating/drawing multiline

Post by andrew » Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:33 pm

Perhaps..

I've added a feature request at:
https://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.p ... sk_id=2057

Feel free to add more details to the request.

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 532
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Creating/drawing multiline

Post by CVH » Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:49 pm

Well, it would be possible to alter functions scripts so they draw more than one line.
But that will only solve it partially, you still would need to do the joining and the trimming yourself.

A multiline entity has the same issues.

What you really need is something as the model railroad track planning for vent ducts :wink:

Apart from that there are the offset tools.

Another tool that could do a lot of offsetting in one go would be FlexPainter.
In essence designed for flexing stuff and not really for things as vent ducts.
But the implementation of polys as global offsets lead in some situation to angulated results.
e.g. 1OrthoPointGlobal and 2OrthoPointsGlobal.
I did already investigate the implementation of line-types -weights and colors.

Somewhere very soon, no.
On the other hand spending time changed quite drastic overnight.
At the moment I am still very occupied with hatches.

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

Post Reply

Return to “Chat”