view ?

Use this forum for all posts and questions about the free QCAD Community Edition version 3

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
User avatar
Oggie62
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:19 pm

view ?

Post by Oggie62 » Sat Jul 06, 2019 5:52 pm

Today I was in print preview and i must have pressed something by mistake as the drawing shrunk but blank sheet didn't. Ok, I'll just reload the drawing(I had saved just before the print preview -the file loads and shrinks again.....which means I must have pressed something of the program itself. I hope my description explained the problem. Qcad V 3.22.1 (latest) and Win 10 regularly updated.

Regards
Manuel

User avatar
Oggie62
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:19 pm

Re: view ?

Post by Oggie62 » Sat Jul 06, 2019 6:45 pm

Sorry - I posted in Qcad Pro..

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3173
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: view ?

Post by Husky » Sat Jul 06, 2019 7:08 pm

Oggie62 wrote:
Sat Jul 06, 2019 5:52 pm
Today I was in print preview and i must have pressed something by mistake as the drawing shrunk but blank sheet didn't.
Would it be possible for you to attache or PM the dxf drawing? It would speed up the vetting what went wrong. Thanks.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3173
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: view ?

Post by Husky » Sat Jul 06, 2019 7:10 pm

Oggie62 wrote:
Sat Jul 06, 2019 6:45 pm
Sorry - I posted in Qcad Pro..
No problem - I'll move it to the CE section.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
Oggie62
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:19 pm

Re: view ?

Post by Oggie62 » Sat Jul 06, 2019 7:41 pm

Thank you....I had a look and the workspace became enormous. When you start Qcad,the grid is in 1mm spacing but now it's 100mm. The file is attached. Many thanks.
Attachments
bracket3.dxf
(30.81 KiB) Downloaded 143 times

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3173
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: view ?

Post by Husky » Sat Jul 06, 2019 7:58 pm

Great - thank you.

I assume you used in print preview the option "Auto fit drawing to page". QCAD did exactly what you had ask for .... but you have a lost circle (2 mm diameter) on the very right side, around 6000 mm away from your main drawing, and QCAD considers that as part of the drawing.

However, delete the circle and repeat in the print preview the "Auto fit drawing to page" function and I think that is what you are looking for. Try it and keep us posted how it works out for you.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
Oggie62
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:19 pm

Re: view ?

Post by Oggie62 » Sat Jul 06, 2019 8:21 pm

Yep - that's it. As you said, Qcad was obeying my orders. good to know and what to check out. I was sure it was "bad operator error". I've been using computers long enough (35 years) to know they obey faithfully what we tell them. Many thanks.
P.S. For me not to feel stupid : is it a common rookie mistake ?

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3173
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: view ?

Post by Husky » Sat Jul 06, 2019 8:27 pm

Oggie62 wrote:
Sat Jul 06, 2019 8:21 pm
P.S. For me not to feel stupid : is it a common rookie mistake ?
Yes, I was there too! :D :D :D

Glad to hear it is working now! :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Community Edition”