trouble with rectangular cutout

Discussions around the CAM Add-On of QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
oe5hpm
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 12:40 pm

trouble with rectangular cutout

Post by oe5hpm » Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:34 pm

A cutout is made with direction "inside".
While direction outside is working as expected, the "inside" generates a weird toolpath. As workaround i convert the rectangle to a polyline and insert a node in the middle, which is then declared as starting point for the polyline. The "5-point rectangle" has then a toolpath as expected.

Any ideas on this ?
Selection_031.png
Selection_031.png (3.22 KiB) Viewed 3413 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6482
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: trouble with rectangular cutout

Post by andrew » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:27 pm

oe5hpm wrote:As workaround i convert the rectangle to a polyline and insert a node in the middle, which is then declared as starting point for the polyline.
Yes, this is exactly the right way to deal with inner contours. QCAD/CAM can only start at nodes, so a node needs to be added at the desired start point. BTW: you can directly set the start point at the middle of the side without having to add a node first. Setting the start point at any location where there is no node yet will insert a node for you.

oe5hpm
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 12:40 pm

Re: trouble with rectangular cutout

Post by oe5hpm » Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:08 am

OK ... many thanks.
cheers,
Hannes

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD/CAM”