QCAD on Pinebook Pro (aarch64)

Post your question about installing or upgrading QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
tomek
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 1:23 pm
Location: Czech Republic

QCAD on Pinebook Pro (aarch64)

Post by tomek » Sun Feb 07, 2021 11:24 pm

Hello,
I refer to the forum asking how to install qcad pro on pinebook pro (aarch64).
There are only community editions in the distribution (tested on Manjaro and Fedora), but as a subscriber I would like the full version.
In the subscriber directory, I tried to install * for Linux 64 (installer), which installed but didn't run.
Thank you for answer.
Tomek.
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win10pro 64 bit and FedoraWorkstation_32 64 bit

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 7413
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: QCAD on Pinebook Pro (aarch64)

Post by andrew » Mon Feb 08, 2021 9:41 am

Hello, this is an ARM architecture CPU. Unfortunately, we do not offer binaries for this platform (all Linux packages are for Intel processors). The OpenDesign libraries (used among other things for DXF and DWG support and spline from fit points) is not available for Linux on ARM.

tomek
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 1:23 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: QCAD on Pinebook Pro (aarch64)

Post by tomek » Mon Feb 08, 2021 8:31 pm

Thank you for answer.
So I understand that there is no official support for ARM and that community editions in Linux distributions for ARM processors are unofficial work, and therefore only these versions can be used.
Tomek.
Attachments
QCQAD_ARM.png
QCAD on ARM
QCQAD_ARM.png (92.67 KiB) Viewed 533 times
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win10pro 64 bit and FedoraWorkstation_32 64 bit

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 7413
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: QCAD on Pinebook Pro (aarch64)

Post by andrew » Tue Feb 09, 2021 10:46 am

Yes. Third party QCAD Community Edition packages are based on sources at:
https://github.com/qcad/qcad

These are not from us but compiled and distributed under the QCAD open source license.

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Installation and Upgrades”