Performance with hatches and layout blocks

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 3416
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: Performance with hatches and layout blocks

Post by CVH » Tue Jun 23, 2020 3:33 pm

cccplex wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:44 pm
Copy and paste works. Inside and between files.
Without any lag :?:

---

Hatch Patterns are included in the dxf.
Property 'From Entity' = True and usually at the bottom in the pattern list.
These supersede the installed ones.
Without the .pat file installed Qcad can not revert to it.

There should be a file HPZG60N1.pat (or hpzg60n1.pat) in
../Qcad/Patterns/ under imperial and/or under metric.
One needs both while swapping between drawings with different units.
Qcad keeps the old measurement system while converting to another unit.
Patterns are loaded only once at boot.
After you save it under Win, make sure the file is there. The UAC may intervene.

A most simple pattern.
Good numbers maxed out in digits would be: e_geek
0.577350269189626
1.15470053837925

What gives: (and fit 80 chars)

Code: Select all

60,0,0,0.577350269189626,-1,1.15470053837925,-1.15470053837925
120,0,0,0.577350269189626,1,1.15470053837925,-1.15470053837925
I do not favor negative dY (-1) and suspect problems with it. :?
Properly addressing the 1e right hand clone with dX & dY gives:

Code: Select all

60,0,0,1.73205080756888,1,1.15470053837925,-1.15470053837925
120,0,0,0.577350269189626,1,1.15470053837925,-1.15470053837925
I can toggle between solid and patterned whatever I do.
It doesn't care what variant of the above. As long as the pat file exist.
Remark, I am hatching at 0 degree and rather near the origin.

Regards,
CVH

cccplex
Active Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:38 am

Re: Performance with hatches and layout blocks

Post by cccplex » Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:56 pm

CVH wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 3:33 pm
Without any lag :?:
Yes, turn solid on - copy paste with no lag - turn solid off. :)
CVH wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 3:33 pm
Hatch Patterns are included in the dxf.
Property 'From Entity' = True and usually at the bottom in the pattern list.
These supersede the installed ones.
Without the .pat file installed Qcad can not revert to it.
Aha, that was my problem. I was messing in the snapshot version and didn't copy over the hatches. I see the hatches work so I don't think about copying. Well, so toggling the solid on hatches is one way to see which patterns I forgot to copy over. :lol:
CVH wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 3:33 pm
What gives: (and fit 80 chars)

Code: Select all

60,0,0,0.577350269189626,-1,1.15470053837925,-1.15470053837925
120,0,0,0.577350269189626,1,1.15470053837925,-1.15470053837925
Thanks. Although in my case (I only use the first zigzag line to fill out a box) I doubt that those extra digits will be needed.
15.6 GiB memory - i7-9750H CPU @ 2.60GHz - GeForce GTX 1650 - Latest Ubuntu

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 3416
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: Performance with hatches and layout blocks

Post by CVH » Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:54 pm

cccplex wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:56 pm
I doubt that those extra digits will be needed.
Question it if you like.

The AUTOCADhatch.com version @ a span of 500.
HPZG60N1.png
Lean HPZG60N1.pat @500
HPZG60N1.png (9.17 KiB) Viewed 6582 times
HPZG60N1b.png
Lean HPZG60N1.pat @10000
HPZG60N1b.png (3.81 KiB) Viewed 6582 times


One thing is sure: They don't hurt.
CVH

cccplex
Active Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:38 am

Re: Performance with hatches and layout blocks

Post by cccplex » Tue Jun 23, 2020 11:19 pm

Well, I was using it at max 220. That's why I probably didn't see it.
I'm learning more and more about hatches. Your answers force me to understand it all. e_geek
15.6 GiB memory - i7-9750H CPU @ 2.60GHz - GeForce GTX 1650 - Latest Ubuntu

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 3416
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: Performance with hatches and layout blocks

Post by CVH » Wed Jun 24, 2020 12:38 am

The digits ...
It may sound off-topic ...

Rigorous coding pays. two-folds.
A pattern as your hatch but coded angled 60.5° instead of 60°
and using the proper numbers will even time out at some point ...

That is more than just lagging, with some firm Hatches you can put coffee in that time.

Besides that it will be hard to put it in a 80 character line.
It will lose stability because there is no place left for the necessary digits.

----

The 'solid' work aroud is fine up to the point where you have to toggle back.
With patterns included in the file that's out of the question.
But, it kills the zoom lag in Layout too.

I tried it out on the 2e file in https://www.ribbonsoft.com/bugtracker/i ... sk_id=2063
Of no use if you aply this to all the Hatches. Looks odd as solution.

In the process I lost the H1INSUN1 Hatch .... :oops:

:!: :!: :!:
Just the 3 Hatches with gravel.pat set to solid is the better solution the Layout.
And it looks rather pleasing too.

The Pattern IS the LAG !

Regards,
CVH

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”