Text edition bug

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post Reply
User avatar
dfriasb
Senior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 1:08 pm
Location: Calafell, Tarragona, Spain

Text edition bug

Post by dfriasb » Sun Mar 22, 2020 10:51 pm

Hello all,

It seems that some bug is happening when editing text Height property with text editor. QCAD is stopping for some seconds (10-20 aprox.). It's happening to me when both creating or editing a text. In order to reproduce this you can:
  1. Open the attached file
  2. Create new text with T,E
  3. Select Height property content
  4. Delete it. HERE it comes the bug.
I attach dxf file and some screenshots.
Attachments
DFa.dxf
(108.95 KiB) Downloaded 54 times
3- QCAD thinking about 10-20 seconds.png
3- QCAD thinking about 10-20 seconds.png (216.11 KiB) Viewed 729 times
2- QCAD thinking - monitor.png
2- QCAD thinking - monitor.png (240.91 KiB) Viewed 729 times
1- Before selectin text Height.png
1- Before selectin text Height.png (222.06 KiB) Viewed 729 times
David Frías Barranco | architect
[email protected] | davidfriasarquitecto.es

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6919
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Text edition bug

Post by andrew » Sun Mar 22, 2020 11:00 pm

Thanks for your report.

For all support requests, please:
- Indicate the operating system you are using and the version thereof (e.g. Windows 10 32bit, Windows 8.1 64bit, Ubuntu 14.2 64bit, macOS 10.12, etc.)
- Indicate the exact version of QCAD you are using (see Help > About or QCAD > About QCAD or indicate the name of the file you have downloaded and installed)
- Attach original drawing files (DXF, DWG, ...) if appropriate
- Attach exported files (SVG, PNG, PDF, ...) if appropriate
- Include screenshots if appropriate
- If there is an error message, indicate the exact message or include a screenshot of the message
- If using a command line tool, indicate that exact command used

Please be as specific as possible in describing your problem, so we can help you efficiently, thanks.

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 775
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Text edition bug

Post by CVH » Sun Mar 22, 2020 11:01 pm

I still had to update...

QCADpro 3.23.0.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520
Can't reproduce.

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3164
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Text edition bug

Post by Husky » Mon Mar 23, 2020 12:10 am

dfriasb wrote:
Sun Mar 22, 2020 10:51 pm
. In order to reproduce this you can:
I can't reproduce that on Win10/64. I've no delay within my editing ...

Husky-2020.03.22-03.png
Husky-2020.03.22-03.png (79.67 KiB) Viewed 717 times

Note: Your Memory (RAM) is already used to 77%. That is to much and leads to performance issues! Maybe you can test the issue with a lower RAM load.
Shut down your computer (not a restart!),
Boot your computer again.
After it has booted start NO other program except QCAD.
Test the Text editing issue - will it still stop for 20 sec.?
How much RAM in % is used?
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

enpontus
Newbie Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:14 am

Re: Text edition bug

Post by enpontus » Mon Apr 06, 2020 10:20 am

i see this as well on fedora linux (community edition qcad-3.24.2.6-2.fc31.x86_64) happens at times when changing the numbers (e.g. two backspaces from size 150 =>1 gives me this stop (if i want to change to 125 or so)

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”