[solved] Snapshot issue for 3.23.06: Dimension text not showing in Layouts

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post Reply
MPN
Active Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 3:33 pm

[solved] Snapshot issue for 3.23.06: Dimension text not showing in Layouts

Post by MPN » Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:45 am

Hi,

I'm seeing the following issue in 3.23.06: Dimensions texts are not showing in layouts.

Repro: I opened a dxf file in 3.23.06 (last saved from 3.23.0)

Model (looks like this both in 3.23.0 and 3.23.06):
Image

3.23.0 (showing correctly when double clicking the Layout block)
Image

3.23.06 (not showing dimension ticks and texts when double clicking the Layout block)
Image

Is this a known issue, if not let me know if you need the dxf file to repro.

Note: that when using dwf2pdf I see these errors which might be related:

Code: Select all

09:53:27: Debug:    exporting layout: Planer (*Paper_Space2) [3]
Critical: QWinFontEngine: unable to query transformed glyph metrics (GetGlyphOutline() failed, error 1003)... (Cannot complete this function.)
Last edited by MPN on Sun Nov 17, 2019 7:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.

MPN
Active Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 3:33 pm

Re: Snapshot issue for 3.23.06: Dimension text not showing in Layouts

Post by MPN » Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:23 am

After digging around I found that if I set the 'Size scale factor' to 100 the dimensions are rendered again in the Layout but the values are scaled by 100. (Note that my Viewport scale is 0.01 in the Layout block)

Image

Image

.. And then the dimension rendering is 100 times too large in the Model view.

Should I report this in the bug tracker?

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2756
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Snapshot issue for 3.23.06: Dimension text not showing in Layouts

Post by Husky » Sat Nov 16, 2019 6:39 pm

MPN wrote:
Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:23 am
Should I report this in the bug tracker?
Before you do that please attach the dxf/dwg on this posting for further investigation. Thanks.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

MPN
Active Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 3:33 pm

Re: Snapshot issue for 3.23.06: Dimension text not showing in Layouts

Post by MPN » Sat Nov 16, 2019 7:21 pm

Husky wrote:
Sat Nov 16, 2019 6:39 pm
MPN wrote:
Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:23 am
Should I report this in the bug tracker?
Before you do that please attach the dxf/dwg on this posting for further investigation. Thanks.
Ok, attached here
Attachments
Udbygning.dxf
(307.05 KiB) Downloaded 9 times

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2756
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Snapshot issue for 3.23.06: Dimension text not showing in Layouts

Post by Husky » Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:25 pm

Thanks for the drawing.

Two things ....

1. Yes, I would consider that as a bug too. Please fill the bug report below https://www.qcad.org/bugtracker
I recommend to work with QCAD Pro 3.23.0 until a solution is available

2. On an other note - I'm confused by your used drawing values regarding dim's (has nothing to do with the bug!)
Why is the dim Text height size 15 cm? What should be the printed size? Standard would be 0.35 cm on paper ...

Husky-2019.11.16-02.png
Husky-2019.11.16-02.png (25.57 KiB) Viewed 541 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

MPN
Active Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 3:33 pm

Re: Snapshot issue for 3.23.06: Dimension text not showing in Layouts

Post by MPN » Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:49 pm

Husky wrote:
Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:25 pm
2. On an other note - I'm confused by your used drawing values regarding dim's (has nothing to do with the bug!)
Why is the dim Text height size 15 cm? What should be the printed size? Standard would be 0.35 cm on paper ...
The 15 cm value worked well when working in the Model space. It has a ok size when using a Viewport with scale 1/100; this gives a height of 0.15 cm when printed (yes it is small, but ok for my use case).

MPN
Active Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 3:33 pm

Re: Snapshot issue for 3.23.06: Dimension text not showing in Layouts

Post by MPN » Sat Nov 16, 2019 9:01 pm

Husky wrote:
Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:25 pm
1. Yes, I would consider that as a bug too. Please fill the bug report below https://www.qcad.org/bugtracker
I recommend to work with QCAD Pro 3.23.0 until a solution is available
Husky-2019.11.16-02.png
Thanks. I have reported the bug here: https://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.p ... sk_id=1998

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2756
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Snapshot issue for 3.23.06: Dimension text not showing in Layouts

Post by Husky » Sat Nov 16, 2019 9:39 pm

MPN wrote:
Sat Nov 16, 2019 9:01 pm
Thanks. I have reported the bug here: https://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.p ... sk_id=1998
Great! Thanks.
MPN wrote:
Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:49 pm
The 15 cm value worked well when working in the Model space. It has a ok size when using a Viewport with scale 1/100; this gives a height of 0.15 cm when printed (yes it is small, but ok for my use case).
Understood - nothing wrong with that!

I always try to keep it simple. With your goals I would use this settings:

Husky-2019.11.16-03.png
Husky-2019.11.16-03.png (30.61 KiB) Viewed 520 times

But at the end of the day - the result is the same. :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

MPN
Active Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 3:33 pm

Re: Snapshot issue for 3.23.06: Dimension text not showing in Layouts

Post by MPN » Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:06 pm

On the note of scaling dimensions: It would be awesome to have an extra scale factor on viewports that only affected the dimensions of that viewport. Something maybe called: 'Dimensions scale'.
Then I could keep my 0.15 cm dimensions in a viewport with scale 1:50 by setting 'Dimension scale = 0.5'.
And for all my viewports with 1:100 I would leave the default Dimensions scale at 1 (while still keeping my values as in the Dimensions preferences above).

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2756
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Snapshot issue for 3.23.06: Dimension text not showing in Layouts

Post by Husky » Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:49 pm

MPN wrote:
Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:06 pm
On the note of scaling dimensions: It would be awesome to have an extra scale factor on viewports that only affected the dimensions of that viewport. Something maybe called: 'Dimensions scale'.
Yes - I would appreciate that too.
MPN wrote:
Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:06 pm
Something maybe called: 'Dimensions scale'.
I would prefer something closer to the already used terms for Dimension Settings. Maybe called: "Dimension scale factor" or "DIM scale factor"

A Viewport 1:50 would then get the "DIM scale factor" 50
A Viewport 1:100 would then get the "DIM scale factor" 100
A Viewport 10:1 would then get the "DIM scale factor" 0.1
A Viewport 2:1 would then get the "DIM scale factor" 2
and so on - you know what I'm talking about.

Howsoever - here in this forum the idea could get lost. Whats about if you fill a "Feature Request" for that? You can use the bugtracker forum for that:
https://www.qcad.org/bugtracker

I'll vote for it. e_surprised
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

MPN
Active Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 3:33 pm

Re: Snapshot issue for 3.23.06: Dimension text not showing in Layouts

Post by MPN » Sun Nov 17, 2019 11:13 am

I have submitted a feature request here:

https://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.p ... sk_id=1999

MPN
Active Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 3:33 pm

Re: Snapshot issue for 3.23.06: Dimension text not showing in Layouts

Post by MPN » Sun Nov 17, 2019 7:25 pm

Andrew has already submitted a fix for the issue in this thread so marking it as solved

MPN
Active Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 3:33 pm

Re: [solved] Snapshot issue for 3.23.06: Dimension text not showing in Layouts

Post by MPN » Thu Nov 21, 2019 8:26 am

Verified that the issue is fixed in snapshot 3.23.07

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”