Page 1 of 1

import drawing with tolerance

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 2:08 pm
by tomaslet
Hi,

(version 3.22. for windows)

We have an issue when importing a ACAD dwg file with dimensions to QCAD. Our dimension are with a tolerance (fig1.) but when we import them into QCAD the tolerances disappear (fig2.).
Is there a way to import the file with the tolerance on it. Also is there a way to use the same type of dimensions we use in autocad?
2019-05-14 15_04_01-eDrawings.png
2019-05-14 15_04_01-eDrawings.png (6.27 KiB) Viewed 672 times
2019-05-14 15_04_18-190694.pdf - Adobe Acrobat Reader DC.png
2019-05-14 15_04_18-190694.pdf - Adobe Acrobat Reader DC.png (9.27 KiB) Viewed 672 times
thanks
Tomas

Re: import drawing with tolerance

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 2:15 pm
by andrew
tomaslet wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 2:08 pm
Is there a way to import the file with the tolerance on it.
I would need the DXF/DWG file (or the relevant part of it) to answer that.
tomaslet wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 2:08 pm
Also is there a way to use the same type of dimensions we use in autocad?
No, QCAD currently has no support for alternative dimension styles.

Re: import drawing with tolerance

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 9:55 am
by tomaslet
i attached a test dwg file. we also saw our logo disappear when importing into QCAD.

Re: import drawing with tolerance

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 1:19 pm
by andrew
Thanks. The tolerance has been defined as part of a dimension style. QCAD does not currently support dimension styles.

The logo was likely an OLE object (a Windows specific object type that relies on another Windows application to be rendered). This is also not supported by QCAD. Perhaps you could import a bitmap instead of vectorize the logo.

Re: import drawing with tolerance

Posted: Thu May 16, 2019 1:29 pm
by jdepi
Hi Andrew,
Is the support of these dimension styles (at least the tolerance part) planned to be implemented this year?
Our company would like to migrate from DraftSight to your product, but the lack of this feature is a no-go for us :( .

Re: import drawing with tolerance

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 10:24 am
by andrew
I've added a feature request at:
https://qcad.org/bugtracker/index.php?d ... sk_id=1886

Note that you can add tolerances to dimensions in QCAD using the property editor (lower / upper limit). Whether this will be implemented this year depends largely on user interest and availability of time / resources from our side.