Clip to rectangle problem ...

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post Reply
User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3205
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Clip to rectangle problem ...

Post by Husky » Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:34 pm

Hi,

I'm trying right now to use the "Clip to rectangle / clip to area tool.
Unexpected I have problems to define the size of an area - but not in all parts of the drawing and I don't know why!

"Big area" = impossible - the left mouse click is not accepted
Husky-2013.11.27-01.png
Husky-2013.11.27-01.png (3.14 KiB) Viewed 5714 times

"Small area" ... works. Why??????????
Husky-2013.11.27-02.png
Husky-2013.11.27-02.png (3.67 KiB) Viewed 5714 times
Husky-2013.11.27-03.png
Husky-2013.11.27-03.png (1.04 KiB) Viewed 5714 times
Any Idea on this?

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 7025
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Clip to rectangle problem ...

Post by andrew » Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:54 am

Thanks for the report.

Could you attach or e-mail the DXF file for testing? Thanks.

User avatar
Clive
Premier Member
Posts: 1329
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Clip to rectangle problem ...

Post by Clive » Thu Nov 28, 2013 12:53 pm

Yes, I've noticed this too. It seems to happen when selecting parts of a drawing that contain Circles.
Works fine for Arc and Ellipses, but Circles no good. Check my simple test.
Clip to Rectangle test.dxf
(79.07 KiB) Downloaded 297 times
For the best support please state your operating system, QCAD version and add any supporting DXF/DWG files, screenshots etc...

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 7025
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Clip to rectangle problem ...

Post by andrew » Thu Nov 28, 2013 1:01 pm

Thanks Clive. I can reproduce that behavior and files a report at:
http://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.ph ... ask_id=977

User avatar
Clive
Premier Member
Posts: 1329
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Clip to rectangle problem ...

Post by Clive » Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:16 pm

andrew wrote:Thanks Clive. I can reproduce that behavior and files a report at:
http://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.ph ... ask_id=977
No problem, glad you've sorted it out :wink:

@Husky, it will be good to test this with the forthcoming new release 8)
For the best support please state your operating system, QCAD version and add any supporting DXF/DWG files, screenshots etc...

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3205
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Clip to rectangle problem ...

Post by Husky » Thu Nov 28, 2013 7:49 pm

clive wrote:@Husky, it will be good to test this with the forthcoming new release 8)
That's for sure ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

User avatar
Clive
Premier Member
Posts: 1329
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Clip to rectangle problem ...

Post by Clive » Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:18 pm

Hey Husky check it out, this seems to be fixed now in 3.4.4 :wink:
For the best support please state your operating system, QCAD version and add any supporting DXF/DWG files, screenshots etc...

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3205
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Clip to rectangle problem ...

Post by Husky » Thu Dec 05, 2013 7:36 pm

clive wrote:Hey Husky check it out, this seems to be fixed now in 3.4.4 :wink:
Yep - now it works like a charm. Thank you Andrew!

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”