Use of "Substitute Fonts" question ...

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post Reply
User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3205
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Use of "Substitute Fonts" question ...

Post by Husky » Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:57 pm

Hi guys,

do I always have to save and reload my drawing after the use of the "Substitute Fonts" tool to see the outcome?

Is there a more convenient way to work with this tool? e_confused

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 7025
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Use of "Substitute Fonts" question ...

Post by andrew » Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:06 pm

I cannot reproduce that behavior here. Changes should indeed be visible immediately after using this tool. Do you have an example drawing / use case? Thanks.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3205
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Use of "Substitute Fonts" question ...

Post by Husky » Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:53 pm

andrew wrote:Changes should indeed be visible immediately after using this tool.
Unfortunately .... not!

Screen-shots with "extreme font" for demonstration - but this behavior is the same with all tested fonts.

start tool "Substitute Fonts",
Husky-2013.11.21-01.png
Husky-2013.11.21-01.png (20.87 KiB) Viewed 3629 times
Change the text font - confirm with Ok - no changes visible in the drawing.
Husky-2013.11.21-02.png
Husky-2013.11.21-02.png (11.56 KiB) Viewed 3629 times
Start again - information is correct - it should be the "Keystroke" Font - but I can't see it ...
Husky-2013.11.21-03.png
Husky-2013.11.21-03.png (23.5 KiB) Viewed 3629 times
... cancel the tool - Save/reload the drawing - now I have the changes visible!
Husky-2013.11.21-04.png
Husky-2013.11.21-04.png (10.4 KiB) Viewed 3629 times
And yep - it happened in XP32 :wink:

Edit: I used a new drawing for the test - no inherited waste! :lol:

User avatar
J-J
Moderator
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Re: Use of "Substitute Fonts" question ...

Post by J-J » Fri Nov 22, 2013 7:55 am

And yep - it happened in XP32 :wink:
It works all right with win7....

Husky,you are due for a system upgrade !
JJ Win7 pro-64

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3205
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Use of "Substitute Fonts" question ...

Post by Husky » Fri Nov 22, 2013 8:47 am

J-J wrote:Husky,you are due for a system upgrade !
Yep - I know! But I been told by QCAD that it still will work with XP/32 :lol:

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”