dwg file opens but then crashes QCAD.

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

Post Reply
GrowMate
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2021 11:45 pm

dwg file opens but then crashes QCAD.

Post by GrowMate » Thu Nov 25, 2021 4:34 pm

Huawei Mate Book Pro 2020 + Windows 10 v.20H2 (OS Build 19042.1237) QCAD Professional: latest version

I have a simple dwg file which opens easily enough in QCAD but crashes the program immediately when I try to copy any part of the drawing. There are no issues with this file when I open it in our office CAD system (Bricscad).

I have tried reinstalling QCAD but that hasn't cleared the problem, which also extends to some of the other files I use.

Any help gratefully received!
Attachments
Island 3.dwg
(1.82 MiB) Downloaded 14 times

User avatar
petevick
Premier Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 9:34 am
Location: North Norfolk coast UK

Re: dwg file opens but then crashes QCAD.

Post by petevick » Thu Nov 25, 2021 5:31 pm

Using the latest snapshot in Linux, if I select any entity Qcad freezes :cry:

Do you know if there are any entities that have a z value set ??
Pete Vickerstaff
Linux Mint 20.2 Cinnamon, Qcad Pro 3.27.0

User avatar
petevick
Premier Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 9:34 am
Location: North Norfolk coast UK

Re: dwg file opens but then crashes QCAD.

Post by petevick » Thu Nov 25, 2021 5:36 pm

....actually I can select the bounding box and the text without any error
Pete Vickerstaff
Linux Mint 20.2 Cinnamon, Qcad Pro 3.27.0

User avatar
petevick
Premier Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 9:34 am
Location: North Norfolk coast UK

Re: dwg file opens but then crashes QCAD.

Post by petevick » Thu Nov 25, 2021 5:48 pm

I saved the drawing and reopened it and now I can select all entities, but it's very laggy when copying entities, so there is something still not right with the drawing as far as Qcad is concerned.
Attachments
Island 3.dwg
(1.65 MiB) Downloaded 12 times
Pete Vickerstaff
Linux Mint 20.2 Cinnamon, Qcad Pro 3.27.0

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1609
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: dwg file opens but then crashes QCAD.

Post by CVH » Fri Nov 26, 2021 1:16 am

Hi,
No issues whatsoever. Win7 32bit Qcad Pro 3.26.4.13
No lagging, can copy/paste ... to another drawing.
This drawing handles just the same as I am used to.

Many of the entities are splines.
Apart from curved shapes, also things what looks like lines and arcs.
Beside ~1300 entities in Model_Space there are many more located in the blocks.

e.g. block 'new block' 4328 splines.
When we look closer in this block, we can see very odd constructions.
Splines with hard corners by 3 or more fit/control points in the same spot.

Odd Grid settings ...
There are also entities that don't look to connect properly with neighbors.
From some views I get the idea that this once was a 3D design.



Regards,
CVH

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3889
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: dwg file opens but then crashes QCAD.

Post by Husky » Fri Nov 26, 2021 5:57 am

On my Win10 the drawing froze first QCAD and then my PC. Tested it three times - froze my PC three times. :shock: :shock: :shock:
petevick wrote:
Thu Nov 25, 2021 5:31 pm
Do you know if there are any entities that have a z value set ??
I couldn't find one but I guess your hunch is correct. The drawing reacted very unusual to QCAD tools.

Howsoever - tried to clean it up, flatten it to 2D, deleted unexplainable (to me!) selections, saved it.

Try how it works on your PC ...
Attachments
Island 3_mod.dwg
(1.65 MiB) Downloaded 9 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
petevick
Premier Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 9:34 am
Location: North Norfolk coast UK

Re: dwg file opens but then crashes QCAD.

Post by petevick » Fri Nov 26, 2021 7:41 am

@ Husky - It's still fairly laggy, but I should think that's down to all the blocks that the drawing has. All those blocks could be the cause of OP's crash problem.
Pete Vickerstaff
Linux Mint 20.2 Cinnamon, Qcad Pro 3.27.0

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1609
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: dwg file opens but then crashes QCAD.

Post by CVH » Fri Nov 26, 2021 11:14 am

Guys,
Both versions have no Z values but zero that I can locate with a tool to look for them.

I have them side by side along 3 other files ... Works fine. :wink:
Not the first time that I have an edge over 64bit with my outdated desktop.

Also saw that the auto save backup file is 14.0Mb large but of no issue for my slow HDD.

Husky wrote:
Fri Nov 26, 2021 5:57 am
unexplainable selections
Model_Space: 7 empty Text entities and 1 Leader that has but one single vertex.
Some of those texts have a column Text Width set and show two reference markers like 'Island 3'.
Or are you referring to other entities or a selection without markers?

For the record, I have some preferences maxed out.
Performance.png
Performance.png (16.9 KiB) Viewed 260 times

My best guess are the odd splines with a vast amount of fit/control points:
Layer 'new block', center top entity (handle 0x5af4): 150 control points ...
... Merely a line X83.13 ... X-83.13 @Y799.446

Regards,
CVH

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 8070
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: dwg file opens but then crashes QCAD.

Post by andrew » Fri Nov 26, 2021 1:35 pm

GrowMate: Confirmed as bug in OpenDesign:
https://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.p ... sk_id=2317

GrowMate
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2021 11:45 pm

Re: dwg file opens but then crashes QCAD.

Post by GrowMate » Fri Nov 26, 2021 5:15 pm

Some really useful responses from you all on this - thanks! The Island 3 drawing was one of several provided by the product manufacturer "for use by architects & specifiers". I suspect that the multitude of splines and other 'noise' may be due to their process. Rather than supplying actual cad files they may well have scanned some line drawings then got some clever software to convert the raster files to dwg. What threw me was that my office cad opens them without any difficulty and I'm almost certain QCAD did too until quite recently, so possibly one of the 'stealth' Windows upgrades has put a spanner in works. Acting on an earlier hint I now find that if I am able to open one of these problem files in QCAD then save it immediately I can thereafter re-open it and work on it as normal. Another hint worth I will pick up on is to try running QCAD in Windows 7 'compatibility mode'.

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”