[solved] Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
RaNoPlus
Active Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:04 pm

[solved] Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Post by RaNoPlus » Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:03 am

I have a question about te printing (into pdf).

I just printed a drawing in the newest version and the pdf is "smaler" than in the old version (3.23). A drawing (same lay-out) on A0 was in 3.23 printed into pdf as it should be. So on A0. In the newest version (3.24) the drawing seems to be smaler (like on a A1) so it doesn't fit. I DIDN'T change any settings of my printer or anything else (paper settings etc). As you can see the settings of my printer are the same. The only difference is the version of Qcad. See attached pdfs and dwg. Do you know where the problem is?

Thank you for your answer.
Radek
Attachments
1306081-5 External LPS AMS12 REV6 23-06-2020.dwg
(3.14 MiB) Downloaded 22 times
Print All v3.24.9.pdf
(7.11 MiB) Downloaded 25 times
Print All v3.23.pdf
(4.05 MiB) Downloaded 21 times
Print window 3.24.9.png
Print window 3.24.9.png (1.08 MiB) Viewed 455 times
Print window 3.23.png
Print window 3.23.png (1.25 MiB) Viewed 455 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6919
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Post by andrew » Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:14 am

I can tell that the two PDF's have the exact same paper size:
118.89 × 84.11 cm (A0)

Are you referring to something else? Or does the problem only occur when printing the PDFs?

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 775
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Post by CVH » Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:35 am

Hi,
What I can see is that:

Equal pdf paper size.
Print_window_3_24_9.png >> Manco some dims
The 24_9 pdf >> Manco the same dims and the border
The png's differ in size.

What are you printing?
The current view?
On paper, To pdf?

More questions than answers, sorry.

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

RaNoPlus
Active Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:04 pm

Re: Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Post by RaNoPlus » Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:48 pm

andrew wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:14 am
I can tell that the two PDF's have the exact same paper size:
118.89 × 84.11 cm (A0)

Are you referring to something else? Or does the problem only occur when printing the PDFs?
I only make pdf's. Also when I plot them. So I can't tell you if this happen also when I plot in paper. Strange is that one drawing fits A0 as it should but the other not. Both formats are the same.

RaNoPlus
Active Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:04 pm

Re: Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Post by RaNoPlus » Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:53 pm

CVH wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:35 am
Hi,
What I can see is that:

Equal pdf paper size.
Print_window_3_24_9.png >> Manco some dims
The 24_9 pdf >> Manco the same dims and the border
The png's differ in size.

What are you printing?
The current view?
On paper, To pdf?

More questions than answers, sorry.

Regards,
CVH
The .png files are just to let you see the printer settings are the same. It's about the drawings in PDF. One is fitting correctly on A0 but the other not. I am using the same settings, it's exactly the same drawing and I didn't make any changes of my printer settings. There were also no updates om MacOs. So I don't know.
I am printing the same view (LPLAMS12 all). You can see it on those .png files.
I am printing to pdf. As always. See also my reply to Husky.

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 775
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Post by CVH » Wed Jun 24, 2020 2:40 pm

RaNoPlus wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:53 pm
The .png files are just to let you see ...
We know, but the pdfs are about exactly the same in size, the design on it too.
I was just listing the things we could see.
There is missing somewhat on the later version ...
RaNoPlus wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:53 pm
I am printing to pdf.
Well, I trust Andrew to export his art to pdf ... bugs are dealt with ... :wink:

Did you try XD?
Export to pdf.
'Print To' is from your printer driver.

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

RaNoPlus
Active Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:04 pm

Re: Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Post by RaNoPlus » Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:06 pm

CVH wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 2:40 pm
RaNoPlus wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:53 pm
The .png files are just to let you see ...
We know, but the pdfs are about exactly the same in size, the design on it too.
I was just listing the things we could see.
There is missing somewhat on the later version ...
RaNoPlus wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:53 pm
I am printing to pdf.
Well, I trust Andrew to export his art to pdf ... bugs are dealt with ... :wink:

Did you try XD?
Export to pdf.
'Print To' is from your printer driver.

Regards,
CVH
Yes, I tried XD, see attached file. It's still not printing this drawing on A0 correctly.
Attachments
1306081-5 External LPS AMS12 REV6 23-06-2020.pdf
(7.95 MiB) Downloaded 20 times

RaNoPlus
Active Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:04 pm

Re: Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Post by RaNoPlus » Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:40 pm

Now I was playing with all the versions I have and find one interesting thing. Version: 3.24.3.0 (3.24.3) is working fine! So I think it's the newest version (snapshot) which is not working correctly- talking about pdf print.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6919
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Post by andrew » Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:55 pm

I'm afraid I still don't follow. The PDFs you posted from QCAD 3.23 and 3.24 are exactly the same size (A0). What exactly is wrong / the problem? Why do you think one will not fit on A0?

RaNoPlus
Active Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:04 pm

Re: Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Post by RaNoPlus » Wed Jun 24, 2020 10:28 pm

andrew wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:55 pm
I'm afraid I still don't follow. The PDFs you posted from QCAD 3.23 and 3.24 are exactly the same size (A0). What exactly is wrong / the problem? Why do you think one will not fit on A0?
Not really, one drawing is complete with the border, title block, the other NOT. I have played with the drawings and I see now that the border and title blocks are in Defpoints layer (non printable) . This is the answer ( I think).
The last question remains, why it's wel printed in 3.23 version when it's the same drawing.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3164
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Post by Husky » Thu Jun 25, 2020 12:32 am

Hi guys! If your plan was to confuse me ...................... you won!

The issue is reproducibly.
The reported issue has nothing to do with the printed size of the drawing!

The issue is: Paper_Space (LPLAMS12 all) printed to pdf shows or shows not border, title block etc. within different QCAD versions ...
... it looks like it was working till 3.23.0.2 ...

... back to Andrew. :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 775
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Post by CVH » Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:32 am

Husky wrote:
Thu Jun 25, 2020 12:32 am
The issue is reproducibility.
The reported issue has nothing to do with the printed size of the drawing!
Correct. Still: reported was 'format' as of size.
We asked for that 3 times.

Up to Wed Jun 24 it was size and manco's were discarted over 'fits a A0'.
Both are perfectly A0!
IMHO A1 is half a A0, if it won't fit a A0 how could it rather fit a A1.

On Wed Jun 24, 2020 11:28 pm that changed.
RaNoPlus wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 10:28 pm
Not really, one drawing is complete with the border, title block, the other NOT.
Now we are taking about what is actually on the paper.

CVH
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6919
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Post by andrew » Thu Jun 25, 2020 7:54 am

RaNoPlus wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 10:28 pm
Not really, one drawing is complete with the border, title block, the other NOT.
Yes, I can see that. So if I understand you correctly, the paper size is not the problem at all but visibility of a part of the drawing? Please confirm, as above you were talking about the drawing not fitting on A0 and being a different size (A1). Quote "the drawing seems to be smaler (like on a A1) so it doesn't fit". Are these two separate issues?
RaNoPlus wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 10:28 pm
I have played with the drawings and I see now that the border and title blocks are in Defpoints layer (non printable) . This is the answer ( I think).
That's the answer to a different question: the question why some things are missing in one PDF. Never put anything on layer "Defpoints" - it's a format internal layer and always non-printabe.
RaNoPlus wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 10:28 pm
The last question remains, why it's wel printed in 3.23 version when it's the same drawing.
Support for non-printable layers was added in QCAD 3.24.

RaNoPlus
Active Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:04 pm

Re: Differtent print format between 3.23 and 3.24 version

Post by RaNoPlus » Thu Jun 25, 2020 11:08 am

Hi Guys,
I think this issue is done now. It's the 'defpoints thing'. As I understand this was added in 3.24. So that's why there is difference between the versions (visibility of defpoints objects). Thank you for your replies.
Regards Radek

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”