Page 1 of 1

Print Preview / not plottable

Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:47 pm
by Husky
Hi,

the new feature in QCAD Pro to make a layer plottable or not is magnificent! Thank you for that!

The only additional thing what I would like to see is that a "not plottable" layer isn't shown in the Print Preview. It is in my eyes confusing because that isn't the correct Print Preview - the physical print looks different. :wink:

Re: Print Preview / not plottable

Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:52 pm
by andrew
Yes, "print preview" is not really the accurate term but more common than the accurate term "layout". The QCAD "print preview" is really a "layout". In the interest of compatibility with other CAD systems, non-plottable layers are indeed shown in the layout.

Re: Print Preview / not plottable

Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:49 pm
by ssobol
So how do you use the print/don't print layer feature?

I can only toggle visibility and/or lock.

I expect to be able to see a layer on the screen but be able to set it so that it will not print.

Thanks.

Re: Print Preview / not plottable

Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2019 1:06 am
by Husky
ssobol wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:49 pm
I expect to be able to see a layer on the screen but be able to set it so that it will not print.
Correct and you can't see them in "Print Preview.

You will find the settings for "Plottable" in the Layer Dialog (New- or Edit Layer).

Below "Application Preferences" is the possibility given to make the "Plottable column" visible in the Layer List ...

Husky-2019.03.25-01.png
Husky-2019.03.25-01.png (75.92 KiB) Viewed 1212 times

... and it will look like this:

Husky-2019.03.25-03.png
Husky-2019.03.25-03.png (16.73 KiB) Viewed 1212 times

Re: Print Preview / not plottable

Posted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:32 pm
by Panchdara
Husky wrote:
Tue Mar 26, 2019 1:06 am
Husky-2019.03.25-03.png
That is cool! I like that. Husky, you must know all the "QCAD Wonders of the World". :D

Oh, need to restart QCAD once preferences have been set.