Using NewFile.addPostNewAction

Discussion forum for C++ and script developers who are using the QCAD development platform or who are looking to contribute to QCAD (translations, documentation, etc).

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files, scripts and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

jcn
Newbie Member

Using NewFile.addPostNewAction

Post by jcn » Wed May 19, 2021 2:25 am

64 bit Win10, QCAD Version 3.26.2

Javascript is new to me (I'm not a programmer, but my background is in C going back to days at Bell Labs, some C++ and VisualBasic), but I've been managing to write a number of very useful scripts for my application with QCAD using the Forum, example code, the tutorials, and Google.

At this point, I want to have a custom script run whenever a new file or an existing file is opened. I have found:

NewFile.addPostNewAction("scripts/MyStuff/MyFileInit.js");

(and also NewFile.addPostOpenAction)

which appears that it should do what I want, but I haven't been able to make it work and haven't been able to find examples or documentation on this.

The main question is where would I include the command above (assuming that is the correct step)?

When I put it into a command line script loaded with -exec, "addPostNewAction" will run correctly (as seen by single-stepping in the debugger), but when a new file is launched, the NewFile.postNewActions[k] array that is used when QCAD calls NewFile.js is empty.

I also tried putting it into NewFile.js directly, but I'm thinking that isn't the correct approach. When I did run the command there, my script would run when a new file was opened (verified with the debugger), but then QCAD would crash. The script which ran simply put out a message with QMessageBox.

Any help will be appreciated. I'm expecting that it is straightforward when done correctly, but after much searching, I haven't found an example.

Thanks.

jcn

CVH
Premier Member